Angel Njoku

School: Benjamin Banneker Academic High School

Grade: 11

Zodiac sign: Capricorn/Year of the Horse


During my free time, I like to do a lot of things. Recently, I have started to watercolor, which I have a real passion for. I completed at least 5-6 mini projects and 3 major ones. During my time, I also like to read, especially fictitious novels and manga. I also love to meditate because for me, it’s a good way to let all of my stress go away. Meditation is really helpful for me because I feel like I’m able to release a lot, especially if I’m having a bad day. I love to eat different kinds of food, especially Nigerian food, since it is made in my household a lot.

Future Careers/Future Dreams:

My future career goal is to become a pediatrician. I want to become a pediatrician because I love children so much. During my time volunteering, I have volunteered at the Boys and Girls Club with the smaller children. This year, I’m volunteering at First Rock Child Development Center with children ages 2-3. I think that I’m really good with children, so I believe that they will be incorporated into my future career choice. One of my many dreams is to travel around the world, and that is one of the main reasons why I chose to follow the IB track in my school, because of the global aspect of the program.

Personal Statement:

I’m growing up in a strict African household. I live with my older brother and two little sisters. I didn’t have much exposure to diversity because of how i grew up. I didn’t have much friends back in elementary, because I liked to stay to myself. But later on, after I transferred in middle school, I got interested in Asian culture. I used to watch a lot of anime and my first one was called “Mermaid Melody.” But I grew up out of my anime phase and grew a deep love for Asian culture, especially Korean culture, I learned a lot about Korean culture from K-dramas. My long-time goal is to travel to most of the East-Asian countries. I really want to travel to China, South Korea, Japan, and other places, but the three that I named are the major places that I want to go to. I have grown to love and respect Asian culture.

Social Media:

Snapchat: snowangel1010 (it’s snowangel no space 1010)

Instagram: childlish.angel6